Testimonials

Reviewed December 11, 2013


Last night my husband and I celebrated our 30th anniversary at our favorite restaurant, Harold Seltzer’s on Tyrone Blvd. in St Petersburg. As usual our dinner was fantastic, the prime rib and the sides couldn’t have been better, our waiter ”Red” was attentive to details assuring our satisfaction with every faction of our dinner. Last August my family had a surprise birthday party for me in the private dining room for about 40 friends and family. Everyone attending was impressed with the menu choices available, the service team that oversaw everyone being served hot meals promptly and the overall care the entire staff provided right up to a personal visit from Harold Seltzer himself. We sincerely recommend visiting Harold Seltzer’s Steakhouse with a large party or just a cozy couple.

Mary Williams St. Petersburg, FL

Reviewed July 14, 2013


“Coconut Shrimp”


Went there for my birthday and was very surprised. I ordered filet and wife ordered coconut shrimp. We both love coconut shrimp and have had it all over Florida. The shrimp were HUGE. Very well flavored. We will be back just for the shrimp.


Visited July 2013

Hugh34652
Spring Hill, Florida

Reviewed July 13, 2013


“Looking for the perfect Steak meal”


Went to the Steakhouse last night. Outstanding service. Walked right in and sat right down. We got there around 5:30 pm and on a Friday night. The decor was beautiful, seating was in booths or tables with chairs, easy for wheelchairs if needed. We started with appertizers, mini hot dogs and mozz sticks. Two of us had the 1 pound Prime Rib dinner, one had garlic mash potatoes, yes real potatoes, I had the baked with butter and sour cream, so good, done perfect, ate all even the skin. One had the 18 oz rRibeye Steak also with the garlic mash potatoes, steak done to perfection and sooooooo good, empty plate there. Finally one had the bacon burger with fries, WHAT BURGER....it was gone. Our waiter was Glenn. Told the Manager when he came by that our Waiter was right on the money, refilling glasses, stoppping to see if we needed anything. Outstanding Customer Service. Our bill was unbeliveable for all we ate and drank, very reasonable for 4 people. The Lobster Special looked real good, as I watched them go by our table. Steakhouse....my choice if you are in the Tyrone Blvd area. Enjoy...


Visited July 2013

D K
St. Petersburg, Florida

Reviewed July 8, 2013


“Great service”


Great meals & wine, ....and desserts if you are not full enough, and very attentive staff. ask for Michigan Joe if you have a chance to visit this location. Best waiter ever!


Visited June 2013

Doobie214
Westland, Michigan

Reviewed July 5, 2013


“Great family /home town atmosphere”


Wow.. Went today for my husbands birthday.. First time visiting. Service great our waiter incredibly friendly. Gave us a bottle of wine on the house and an amazing Napoleon dessert. The food has a home style feel to it nothing fancy but great quality. My husband had a 2lb prime rib and I had the Maine lobster.. All very good. The garlic mashed potato was good. You can see the love in the plates. The scallops my son had we're nicely cooked. The fried mushrooms were tasty just a little too greasy . Overall an excellent service you rarely get without seeming forced.. It was a true honest experience that makes you feel comfortable. The prices OMG! Super affordable. 2lb steak dinner a 1lb steak dinner a scallop dinner a whole lobster soup salad fried mushrooms... Free bottle of wine and dessert all for $100.. It is a definitely the place to go with family and friends. I hope they open one in Tampa.


Visited July 2013

Bisoshya

Reviewed June 25, 2013


“Fabulous Restaurant!”


We visit Harold Seltzer's at least once if not twice within the week we are down there! Awesome Steaks ! Fabulous Service! Wonderful Atmosphere! A 10+ with everything they do! Steaks not exactly like you ordered - they will correct it! Make this a must in your next visit!


Visited February 2013

Lorisgolf La Crosse,
Wisconsin

Reviewed June 19, 2013


"Lobster, Lobster, & Fish at Harold Seltzer's STEAKhouse"


(6/19/2013) Just returned from dinner-feeling full, pampered, & satisfied. The 3 of us had the boiled lobster special w /chowder, twin cold-water lobster tails, & the blackened tilapia fillet. We added coconut fried shrimp, fries with gravy, garden salads, a loaded baked potato, lemonade, & a couple happy hour bar drinks. We really had a difficult time choosing our entries, since the loin lamb chops and the prime rib dinners delivered around us--looked like magazine pictures. We did not regret our choices, once they were delivered. Our server, Dave was wonderfully attentive and our guest check was reasonable -- totaling just over $74. We will look forward to our next visit to Harold Seltzer's.


Visited June 2013

LovvaBargain
St. Petersburg, Florida

Reviewed June 18, 2013


"Good Neighborhood Steakhouse"


Sam's son Harold has revived a local restaurant that has been around for decades....not in this particular location, but let's just say we are all glad it's back. Famous for steaks, the well rounded menu also features, seafood, chicken and pork. The place is always clean; the hostesses and wait staff are always friendly. Not only is the food delicious but it is valur priced. I try to make it to Harold's at the very least every other week.


Visited June 2013

Lazrlady
Seminole, Florida

Reviewed June 17, 2013


"Incredible Value"


This was our first visit since it reopened and boy were we glad we dropped in.


There were four of us in the party. First, the salads which were included in our meal were excellent. Three folks had the Caesar salad and I had the house. All were fresh and chilled and the salad dressings were above average.


Two folks had the prime rib, medium cut on the recommendation of the waiter, and it came out as ordered and both said it was excellent.


I and another member had the lobster add on special for over $12+. I had mine with a NY Strip and the other had it with barbecue ribs. All reported the lobster was superb and with fantastic value. The barbecue was reported to be superb and my steak was exactly as ordered and was a nice size cut. The side dishes were all excellent.


It is glad to see this restaurant has returned to its original standards before being taken over by a new company The reopened restaurant is one that offers incredible value with great quality.


The service was attentive and prompt.


My only complaint:: an overpriced wine list. I am willing to pay 2 times the retail price for a bottle of wine but the new "standard" in this area is 2 1/2 to 3 times the retail price and this restaurant falls into the 2 1/2 variety.


However, with incredible value of the meal, this is one place to which I will return.


Visited June 2013

ackvil
St. Petersburg, Florida

Reviewed June 17, 2013


"Excellent Food"


We go to this Seltzers location every time we are in Florida and have not been disappointed yet. The service is always good and they go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The prime rib is just perfect and if anyone can make a better one I would like to see it. The wife had steak and it came just the way she ordered it (Perfect). The whole meal could not have been any better. The only thing I will recommend is go and try it for yourself and enjoy one of the better meals at a reasonable price.


Visited June 2013

deville98
Kitchener, Canada

Reviewed June 9, 2013


"Lobstah!!!!"


We come here quite a bit for the prime rib, and even more often when they have their lobster dinner special. It is just wonderful--very fresh and cooked to perfection. We are from New England originally and these dinners just hit the spot. Also the service is always excellent.


Visited June 2013

SuzieSammy
Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Reviewed June 5, 2013


“Good Food!! Good Service!”


This was our first visit to Harold Seltzer. We both had the French onion soup which was delicious.
We wanted to try the Wild Onion Rose and we were not disappointed . It was delicious .
For our entree we had chicken and ribs combo. All I can say it was worth every penny.
I had ribs left and took them home. The meal was fabulous .
The service was perfect. We enjoyed everything.
I would recommend this restaurant and we will be back.


Visited May 2013

sunnysouth07
canada

Reviewed June 2, 2013


“Prime rib”


Prime rib cooked exactly to what we ordered. Generous serving at a great price. Don't be disappointed & get a reservation if you are going at a peak time.or early bird.


Visited April 2013

Beverley154982
Brampton, Canada

Reviewed June 1, 2013


"Best Prime Rib Bar None!"


If you have not tried Harold Seltzer's Steakhouse you are missing out. My husband and I are from Ontario and visit Florida twice a year. We have eaten there once each week on this trip.The meal was excellent, service was fabulous, and you cannot argue with the price. We have paid 4 times the price elsewhere for lousy food and service.


Visited May 2013

Veronicasnana
Brantford, Ontario, Canada

Reviewed May 28, 2013


"Delicious food & excellent service"


We visited the restaurant twice during our vacation. The first time we had 9 people and the service was excellent...we went back with a party of 5 and got the same great service.


Food was delicious also.


JP


Visited May 2013

Josette P

Reviewed May 28, 2013


"Lots of Prime Rib"


Memorial Day Harold Seltzer's Steakhouse had their Monday Prime Rib Dinner special -- one pound serving with all dinner accompaniments for $14.95. Such a deal!!! Line out the door but well worth the wait.


Visited May 2013

KLARC
Anna Maria Island, Florida

Reviewed May 20, 2013


"Better than Outback Steakhouse"


We tried this restaurant as Outback was full to overflowing. As they're smaller, they try harder!
Steaks are better too as we found out three nights later when we got into Outback.


Visited May 2013

Sweeperman
Weston super Mare

Reviewed May 2, 2013


Had a graduation party at your Port Richey location this evening. I have been impressed since my first telephone call with Mildred. We are not from the area and Mildred gave us directions, suggestions for a cake, how to find the college where the graduation was being held and made us feel welcomed and confidence that our party of 22 people would be fantastic and it was. The food, atmosphere and service was outstanding. Our waitress was Christine and she knew our needs before we did. She was always smiling and strived to make this evening perfect. This restaurant is a gem and I definetly will stop by if and when we are in the area again. Thank you for making this graduation party a success.

Sandra Willis

Reviewed March 17, 2013


“Good Meal and Service”


I know I'm going to have a good steak and great service at Seltzer's. My husband and I have gone here several times and most times the owner, Harold Seltzer comes by and asks how we're enjoying our meal...I believe he genuinely cares.

Bklynpeg
St. Petersburg, Florida

Reviewed March 10, 2013


“Best Steakhouse”


In February my husband and I vacationed in the Florida Gulf beach area. The condo we rented had a questbook renters could write in. Several of the other renters said Seltzer's steak house was their favorite. So we gave it a try. It was sooooo good!! We even ate there a 2nd time that same week. We will be back in the area again in July and plan to eat there again. Steaks, ribs and prime rib the BEST!! We even had dessert. You can't beat the prices either. Very resonable. Muust try!!!

137beachlover
Shavertown, Pennsylvania

Reviewed February 26, 2013


“A great find.”


We found Harold seltzer s by chance. What a great find.

Restaurant was packed on the night we visited, but it was worth the wait.

A great, friendly restaurant with fantastic steaks.

Joe, our server was very knowledgable, describing all the dishes for us.

Harold seltzer came by each table to introduce himself.

Excellent visit, will return when we are in St Petes again.

Wilson Surrey

Reviewed February 26, 2013


“Outstanding!”


This steakhouse is great. Great food, great staff, great prices. Was so good on Thursday that we went right back on Saturday. Cup of lobster bisque, 18oz ribeye, 16oz prime rib, 2 glasses merlot and pint of Amberbock, under $55. Left servers $15 tip each time. Go early as it fills fast. Also, drinks are 1/2 off before 6pm.

ELMNF

Reviewed February 24, 2013


“Best steak house in town!!”


Seltzer's prime rib is always spectacular! This is a great quiet restaurant for date night, and a welcoming atmosphere for the whole family. We've found most of the wait staff to be knowledgeable and professional. Enjoy!

Flaherty831

Reviewed February 22, 2013


“First visit to Harold's”


The steak was cooked perfect, and the staff was friendly. Enjoyed the meal and planning my next visit.

Daniel H
Dunedin, Florida

Reviewed February 18, 2013


“The Ultimate Steakhouse Experience”


I'm American, but I live in Europe. When I was down in St. Pete with my family, my daughter said she wanted to go to a real American restaurant. As we were driving down Tyrone Blvd., I saw the sign for Harold Seltzer's Steakhouse. I figured, let's go there for dinner. What a great choice it turned out to be! The atmosphere was really American. We got prompt, friendly service, and freshly baked homemade rolls. I had a creamy cup of delicious New England clam chowder to start off with, followed by a perfect Caesar salad. I ordered the ribeye and my wife and daughter both ordered a filet mignon. I can't describe how succulent my steak was. They served it with creamed spinach (divine) and mashed potatoes with garlic. I had had potatoes like that in a fine restaurant in Budapest, but these mashed potatoes with garlic were every bit as good. We topped off the fine meal with coffee and three desserts: key lime pie, chocolate explosion, and my favorite, the Napoleon. The staff was there when we needed them and made us feel welcome. The prices were reasonable. I know my daughter was impressed with her visit to a real American Steak House. My wife and I were too. I highly recommend Harold Seltzer's Steakhouse, especially to those , who want the real American steakhouse experience.

production8media
Magdeburg, Germany

Reviewed February 16, 2013


“Great place to eat.”


The staff was great, thank you Heather, the food was excellent and served in a timely manner. Mr. Seltzer came by each table and greeted each party. We will return.

Wabofi

Reviewed February 12, 2013


"The best"


We had an incredible time at the steak house. The cozy atmosphere and good food are (absolutely unbeatable prices) just great. Never before have I eaten such a tender and tasty meat. This is due to the careful selection and preparation, as the owner told us personally. The family-run restaurant is decorated with lots of family pictures from the past decades, giving it a special touch. The staff read to us from each of your wishes and made sure that we wanted for nothing. Anyone who has ever had reservations about the American kitchen over, here you are wrong. Conclusion: Who is near and not at Harold Seltzer's Steakhouse enters, a culinary experience in a class missed. We'll definitely be back!

Anja65_13
Magdeburg, Sachsen-Anhalt, Germany

Reviewed February 9, 2013


“Excellent food!”


We've been at this restaurant several times in the past year for birthdays and anniversaries. We can't ask for any better. The steak and chicken are very delicious; the ribs are to die for! The prices are very reasonable. The bonus is the wine and desert for the birthday / anniversary person(s). The lights are dim (superb for a romantic supper). The service is good and so is the staff. We recommend this place to everyone :)

lorybell
Markstay, Canada

We visited Harold Seltzer's Steakhouse (not to be confused with the former Sam Seltzers), yesterday, to celebrate our 90 year old friends birthday. When you have a birthday you have your choice of a free bottle of house wine, or a dessert. We chose the wine, of course.


They are famous for prime rib, which we have had preciously, and was excellent. Yesterday we had steaks. The 6 oz steak was juicy and cooked to perfection. My rib eye was the same, excellent! They have a new menu item: sweet potato puffs! Ummmmmmm, yummy and sweet! There are many choices of sides, with each being generous portions. Enjoy to die for home baked herbed rolls, and a dessert menu of delicious delights.


Service was the usual smiling faces and politeness.


They had run out of lamb the day before, which was my first selection, but that tells me it was good previous to our arrival. My idea is that if they have run out, then they certainly serve fresh items, otherwise they would still have chops in the freezer...right?


Prices are extremely reasonable. Enjoy!

Alan and Kathy
San Petersburgo, Florida

We were seated in a short time as we had made reservations for a thursday night which is Prime Rib night. Very crowded, both inside and out with people waiting for tables. We had a huge table for 2 in the main dining room to the left of the bar area. Our waitress name was Sunita and she was wonderful. Very attentive and fun to chat with. I ordered Cesear Salad, Prime Rib and Baked Potatoe. Everything was very good. The salad was one of the best I have had. Since this Seltzers is close by for me I get to come a few times a year! Will return.

nfanzo520

We ate at your restaurant recently for my birthday, using the birthday special. Everything was special. I had the lobster special, and because I didn't think 1-1/4 lbs. would satisfy me, ordered the add-on tail. Well, if that lobster was only 1-1/4, it was the biggest one ever. I just about finished it and took home the add-on tail for lunch the next day. Oh, and that lobster had that "taste" that all too often seems to be missing nowadays. Harold must have a straight connection with the cold waters in Canada for these.


My husband enjoyed his steak, too. And our waiter was just great, helpful and attentive.


We always loved eating at Sam Seltzer's. The experience lives on here at Harold's.

Rose Curran

Went to your St. Petersburg restaurant New Year's eve and had one of the best prime rib dinners ever. Our salad was fresh and tasty; prime rib was cooked to perfection and everything was piping hot.


Sam Seltzers used to be our favorite restaurant and now Harold Seltzers is.


Prices are good and serving sizes are more than ample.

Bernie & Ellen Chisholm

Reviewed November 5, 2012 NEW


Our first visit was with friends. Everyone agreed that the atmosphere was warm and cordial, the waitstaff was attentive and well-informed about the menu. The food was cooked the way we requested and was delicious. The two of us have returned three more times and nothing has changed except the waitstaff seems even more relaxed and friendlier. The Seltzer family seems to be doing it right. They are located near and competing with several good restaurants but will continue to get our patronage with this high quality service, food and preparation.

“Fourth Visit and Still Tops”

Reviewed October 14, 2012


We went for dinner this evening. My husband had a ribeye and I had the prime rib. The prime rib was excellent - probably one of the best I have had. My husband agreed - he stole the rest of mine after I offered a sample. His steak was also very good. We both had salads and garlic mashed potatoes. Both were very good - especially the homemade croutons and dressing. Loved the garlic rolls. The decor was upscale old NY steakhouse. Our service was excellent. Great evening out on vacation!

“First Timers Loved It”

Reviewed October 3, 2012


All excell in food service,if wait /great place inside or out to wait for table, can call and do rsvp-great pricing, owner ,comes to table to thank you for dinning at his restaurant and how , and did you enjoy your service a winner in my book, steaks prime rib, all fantastic.

“Fab”

Reviewed September 22, 2012


My wife and I made our usual trip to Seltzers when we were in the Tampa Bay area. I had the 1lb. cut Prime Rib and my wife had 6oz fillet. Our drink and then food orders were quickly taken. Our drinks came out, the appitizer (fried calamari, outstanding) came out, the salads next then nothing. We waited at least 20 minutes before she came over to inform us that our food was coming out and that there was a banquet that was cooked before us. This was unacceptable. I would rather know that there is a wait before I order than to be told after I'm waiting and ready to drop a 20 on the table and walk out.


We have been to Harold Seltzers before and everything was excellent. I hope this was just a "bad nite" and not the new norm. Bad service was the begining of the end for Sam Seltzer's.


When our travels bring us back to Tampa Bay area, we will try again.

“Great food, poor service”

Reviewed August 30, 2012


I am never disappointed when i go to Harolds. The atmosphere is elegant, the staff is very accommodating and professional, and the prime rib is to die for. I have never had prime rib that is so succulent and flavorful. The french onion soup is one of my favorites and the coconut shrimp appetizer is a meal in itself. My husband and I go there whenever we are tired of the local chains. Its nice refreshing change. I would recommend it highly to anyone who is visiting and anyone who wants a fresh change. Don't forget the try the Cuban sandwich, I think it is the best in town!

“Harolds makes any occasion special”

Reviewed August 8, 2012


I eat there often and I've been always satisfied. Everything on the menu is to try, even though it's a steakhouse but their seafood is as succulent as their steaks and prime rib. They also have a great selection of deserts, my favorites are the "Napoleon" and the "Chocolate Explosion". Don't think twice, go to Harold's Seltzer's Steakhouse and enjoy of the best experiences and meals of your life.

“Magic Place”

Reviewed July 16, 2012


Went with my family had a harolds homade sangria we ended up getting a pitcher too wings and ribs appizrizer is great and have off tuesday . I had the strip thder and full of juicy flavor the garlic ranch dressis amazing and carrot cake to finish off wife had lobster tails they were sweet and juciy kids had burger a shrimp cocktail and a ck tenders good friendly staff nice place to go we will be back we were in on 7 8/12

“Great food great pepole good times”

Reviewed July 11, 2012


New favor place to eat and take my parents on holidays.

“One of the best places to eat. Great staff and awesome food!”

Reviewed July 9, 2012


Gotta to say they do have the best prime rib in town, have been to a couple differant places lately had their prime rib and did'nt compare anything to seltzers!! juicy and perfect flavor. and they have the best carrot cake around.

“Awesome”

Reviewed July 4, 2012


Jim just loves their steak, (and the price of their dinners) so we had to go for his Birthday.I asked out server if they did anything special for birthdays. Holy smokes, they give a bottle of wine,($12.95 value). We had Harold's Cabernet, a really nice wine and I would order it again. Jim's amber bock pint draft seemed a tad expensive at $4.50 but hey he doesn't like wine and it was his birthday after all. My 6 oz filet mignon was $14.99 and his 9 oz was $19.99 Both were super tender. both meals are served with baked potato. I like a vegetable with my meal so we shared a side of broccoli for $2.99. It was more than enough for two people, cooked perfectly, not soft. Total with tax just $52.40 for steak dinner with wine and beer. Crazy, they are from Montreal, I just wish they were closer to home in London, Ontario and I would go way more often. The St Petes location is huge inside and the leather seat booths are very comfortable. Great steak house atmosphere. Exemplary service. We look forward to our return visit to Florida and we know we will be back to Harold Seltzer's Steakhouse.

“Go on your Birthday”

Reviewed May 25, 2012


We always eat here & get "take out" too whenever we are in Florida. They have great offers & friendly staff. The Prime Rib is really good.

“Great Value & Great Service”

Reviewed May 21, 2012


They have a sobriety of meals and each of of them is better then the other. The restaurant has an excellent value and the atmosphere is amazing. Their staff is very friendly, and they made sure that we were happy with our meals. We enjoyed our time at Harold Seltzer's Steakhouse very much.

“Harold Seltzer's Steakhouse”

Reviewed May 17, 2012


Excellent Prime Rib and excellent service. Will go back next year when back in St Pete

“Awesome”

Reviewed March 16, 2012


My wife and I ate there for our 10th anniversary. The service was flawless as was the food. Cant wait for our next trip to Fl. to stop in again.

“Sam would be proud”

Reviewed October 7, 2011


We were much saddened by the demise of Sam Seltzer when we visited the Gulf Beaches last September so we were excited to see it re-open as Harold Seltzer's this year. Same excellent food and service, yummy garlic rolls and house salads and the filet was fabulous. Old club dining feel to the place but still casual enough for shorts & a t-shirt or glam up for a special occasion. Good for groups too.

“Excited to see it re-open!”

Reviewed August 29, 2012


Harolds is best for the prime rib. the steaks are also good. so give them a try. come after 830pm because the folks in the area go to bed after 830pm. so if you come after 830pm there is no wait.


This is a steak house thats what they do best not seafood good prices for the food. full bar too.

“Will come back”

Reviewed August 22, 2012


Been there several times and generally a good experience. On two occasions the kitchen was overwhelmed and serice was slow. Once when they had a banquet and once when the retirement home bus came in. If they have those things going on I would advise you to reconsider.

“Relook”

Reviewed July 9, 2012


Years ago, we always went to Sam Seltzer's Steak House when we were on holiday, but then they closed down. When we were there this year it was good to see that grandson Harold had opened some up again and had stuck with grandpa's tradition of good quality steaks at reasonable prices. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit with the atmosphere being 'smart but casual', the staff being friendly and the food still as good as it used to be. I forgot just how filling the onion rose starter was and was struggling by the time my main course arrived. The 'cowboy steak' was tender and juicy, but perhaps a litttle fatty for my taste. My wife enjoyed her chicken. Glad to see Sam's tradition is being kept alive and we'll cerainly go back on our next Florida trip.

“Keeping with Sam's Tradition”

Reviewed April 19, 2012


It became kind of difficult to find a "not chain or fast food" restaurant, that was open for lunch. I was surprised that not only was it open, but it was almost full and when we left, it was full.

“For a Good Lunch Too”

Reviewed April 10, 2012


One of the better steakhouses around. Great food and in the evenings (after 7 or 8?) it is happy hour and wine is half price.


The onion rose is a delicious appetiser shared between 2-4 people and their steaks are sublime and will be cooked as you ask.

“Great steakhouse”

Reviewed March 17, 2012


We went to Harold Seltzer's because we had joined Harold's club and were given an email certificate for a free bottle of wine and a napoleon with dinner. We've had good luck before with a meal, and with several take-out orders.


Our waitress, Jesse, was quite good and attentive, and one thing we liked was that she told us she wouldn't bother us and that if we wanted her, we should just move our menu to the edge of the table and she would come to us.


The complimentary bottle of wine was nice and the bowl of garlicy croutons was warm and tasty as an accompaniment. I ordered the 10 oz steak and my companion ordered the 5 oz filet with bacon wrapped around it and a side stick of shrimp on a skewer.


My steak was properly cooked and the baked potato was mealy and had a nice salty crust. The salad was chilled and actually had tomatoes in it.


My guest's filet was unfortunately filled with gristle and he refused to complain, something he should have done to allow them to correct it. When I went to pay, I mentioned this to Jesse and she said he should have said something - again, we admit this.

In any event, we went on a Saturday night and arrive around 5 pm because it gets quite busy. By the time we left at 6:30 it was filled.


The prices are affordable, the meat is quite well prepared and flavorfful, and the ambience is nice. So, I'm hoping this was a one-time occasion on the gristly filet. Try it - you'll probably enjoy it.

“Mixed review - half of us liked it”

Reviewed February 3, 2012


We have been to Harold Seltzer's a couple of times. This week's deal was a sirloin steak, choice of salad, and a side for $10.99. We went on Wednesday which happened to be half off glasses or bottles of wine. We ordered the steaks, baked potato, and caesar salads.I ordered a glass of riesling and my husband had a draft beer. Our waiter, Orin brought our salads out promptly along with a bowl of croutons to share for our salads, rather than sprinkling a couple on top. My husband was very happy as he loves croutons! The dressing was just enough and had a nice flavor. Orin kept a watchful eye on all of his tables as he circled through the dining area, When we were done with our salads, our plates were promptly removed. When I finished my wine, I was asked if I would like another. The steaks were tender and delicious, (mine might have been just a touch more on the rare side for me although it was still medium rare). The baked potatoes with their salt encrusted skins were very tasty, not bitter, and just the right size, not those huge ones that no one can finish. It was a very enjoyable meal and I can't say enough about Orin's service.

“Great value for the price”

Reviewed January 23, 2012


We were very satisfied but did not get steaks or their prime rib. It is a very large place with a diverse menu. I had crab-stuffed tilapia and it was great. Try the sweet potato tots!


Next door to Carrabas and a BBQ place.

“Good restaurant and good service”

Reviewed November 28, 2011


Harold's takes the place of Sam Seltzer's only by the original owner. Sam's went out of business very suddenly, obviously due to mis-management. Harold's took up the gauntlet and re-established a family tradition of great food and great value! Coupled with excellent service, an outstanding restaurant.

“Great value for excellent food”

Reviewed November 5, 2011


Harold Seltzer's offers a "club" you can sign up for to receive special offers and notices, and last week I received an email inviting me to have a complimentary bottle of wine and dessert during my birthday month. So, last night my husband and I went, celebrating my birthday a week early.


The dining room was 1/3 full upon arrival and we were seated in a booth that would have accommodated six. Within the hour, the room was filled. The dining room is tastefully appointed with tables and booths spaciously arranged to allow for quiet dining.

I showed the waiter the email offer and he said I could have the wine OR dessert but when he read it again, he graciously conceded it said wine AND dessert. I really was pleasantly surprised when a full bottle of house wine was brought over, served nicely in a chilled bucket and of good flavor.


We told the waiter we wanted to enjoy the wine before ordering and he didn't bother us again until we flagged him down, which I liked. My husband ordered the scallops, which were served in a side carafe with buttery sauce--very flavorful, and very good garlic mashed potatoes.


I chose the 9 oz prime rib, on special for $9.95 and was very pleased with the portion and taste. A crisp and chilled salad accompanied this along with hand cut croutons - very good. The garlic mashed potatoes were of good portion and flavorful.


The chilled napoleon disappeared within a minute - it was so good and a nice end to a pleasant and affordable meal.


Like other reviewers, I did note the waiters seemed a bit harried and weren't the most friendly or engaging but still did a decent job. I will say that I've done take-out here before and their take-out person is excellent and packages everything up beautifully.


I applaud Harold Seltzer because I think what he has done is far superior to what Sam Seltzer's was. It is obvious he is trying hard to build a good clientele through good food and a nice experience and I recommend you try it for yourself. And...join the "club" for the specials!

“Enjoyable evening and very nice meal”

This visit was for my retirement party. There were between 30-40 people in attendance. I chose Harold Seltzer's because it was centrally located for my friends and family. I enjoy the food offered, especially the prime rib, and felt everyone else would also. You have a wide array of offerings so I knew their would be something for everyone. You were wonderful in letting my co-workers bring in a cake. You were understanding and had no complaints when I brought food for my 2 grandsons who have food allergies.


The only thing we could order from your menu was Sprite, and they were satisfied they could order like everyone else. Every one in attendance really enjoyed the experience.


They told me I had made a good choice of places to hold my party. I know I will return and I think some of my guests will be back also.

Veronica Niesen

Had an excellent dinner . One of the parties in our group of 3 came over 10,000 miles to enjoy his Prime Rib Dinner. Has been to Harolds once before, and it was on his agenda to enjoy an excellent Prime Rib meal before making his 10,000 mile returntrip home. He is looking forward to coming to the U.S in 2013 and has already put Seltzer's Steakhouse on his agenda.

Member ID# 7894731
Rewards Network

Food was great. Our waiter was attentive but not intrusive. He made us comfortable and gave great service.

anonymous

The food is good and good value. The blooming onion was huge and tasty.

anonymous

The location is central to most everyone in the area. The waitstaff is courteous, professional, bright, alert, personable, without a fault. The bar can handle anything from a simple non-alcoholic beer, a Shirley Temple (yes they do serve them) to old-fashions and side-cars. Their wine list is adequate and not pretentious.The portions are good size, There is no skimping on quanity in the name of quality.


The food is served at the proper temperatures, hot stuff is hot and cold stuff is cold. The wait staff is prompt to clear the table of used dishes. They ensure you have enough napkins.When you have finished the waitstaff, the hostess, the bar personnel and even Harold will thank you for coming and add that they hope to see you again.

anonymous

A Return To Good Old Fashion Values


The last time I had a meal at Seltzers it was called Sam Seltzers and it was Sunday 16 May 2010 and the very next day it closed its doors for good. That final visit has been our wedding anniversary and the meal was real good. My wife and I heard that The Seltzer family had decided to open up once more and this time being run by the family Seltzer themselves.


Well tonight Friday 18 May 2012, yes just two days after our wedding anniversary we got round to doing that long overdue visit. The setting is similar what with the cows situated outside its almost the same. We thought the inside of the Port Richey establishment was an improvement of the old setting of Sam Seltzer. We were greeted by the waiter and he really made us feel at home, he was originally from NYC and he was real friendly. He even added the touch of a personalised application of fresh pepper (nice touch).


The diet coke and coffee redills were supplied without having to request it. The salad was no better or worse than anywhere else. It is what we expected a good salad. But the proof is in the main meal and we ordered two steaks. I have to say that the steaks were perfect and probably one of the best that I have had in a long time. During the meal this gentleman approached us and introduced himself. It was actually Harold Seltzer himself and he was really interested in what we thought about the service and meal.


We explained to him that it was the first visit since 2010. He immediately picked up on the date as the last time the old Sam Seltzer was in business. He explained what had happened and that he decided that he would reopen under the family. Sam's had been nothing to do with him for years as his family had sold it years earlier. He came across as a very thoughtful man who really wanted to look after his staff and above all look after his customers in the hope that they return. I have to say that he is succeeding.


Yes we will return. Yes we will tell our friends and yes it really is a great place to come for meal. The price is reasonable and the food excellent.


Highly recommended.

anonymous

Chanelle, bar tender & waitress, continues to excel at her job. Shrimp cocktails are the best in the Bay area. Can't wait to return for my "birthday" celebration!!!

anonymous

Favorite Steak House in Port Richey. Food and service are always great. Love the Prime Rib, NY Strip, Ribeye and huge pork chops. Harold is always there to greet you. They have a great Anniversary and Birthday program too.

anonymous

The atmosphere is warm and comfortable. We all had the Monday night prime rib special and it was an ample portion and so very delicious. Our waiter was very nice and accommodating. The service was top notch and we had a great dining experience there. if we lived in the area, we would definitely go back.

anonymous

I went for lunch because they were listed on the awards program. I was very surprised at how good the food was and how quickly we were served. I will definitely go back again.

anonymous

Favorite Steak House in Port Richey. Food and service are always great. Love the Prime Rib, NY Strip, Ribeye and huge pork chops. Harold is always there to greet you. They have a great Anniversary and Birthday program too.

anonymous

Chanelle, bar tender & waitress, continues to excel at her job. Shrimp cocktails are the best in the Bay area. Can't wait to return for my "birthday" celebration!!!

anonymous

“Early Bird Specials”


Reviewed January 14, 2012


My husband, mother and I ate at Harold Seltzer's Steak House this afternoon at 1:30 p.m.. The Early Bird Specials were in effect (Saturday 12N-4PM) which was a pleasant surprise. We sat in a booth which was comfortable. Our waiter came immediately and took our order for drinks which were brought to us immediately along with a basket of hot rolls and butter. I ordered the Blackened Tilapia for $9.99. It came with a salad and a side item. I chose vinagerette dressing for my salad and it was delicious. The tilapia had a sauce on it which was very good. I chose a baked potato for the side item which came with butter and sour cream. My mother ordered tilapia also and enjoyed her meal. My husband ordered a fish sandwich which came with french fries for $8.99. He said it was very tasteful. Our waiter was very attentive to our needs and came by frequently to see if we wanted additional drinks, etc. We have eaten at this restaurant when it was Sam Seltzer's. The food was good at that time, but I have to say it is now significantly better--so I will give it an overall rating of 5 - excellent.

Tampa Sultans

“A great place for prime rib - but go early if you like it medium rare!”


Reviewed January 23, 2012


We used to go here a lot when it was Sam Seltzer's. Now that Harold took over, it's even better!


The steaks are tasty, and they have made the napoleon dessert taste even better. It used to be sickening sweet, but now it's great!


I usually have the prime rib medium rare (the 1lb cut), and my wife likes the T-bone.


I say to go early because the prime rib is cooked throughout the day, and the later it gets, the less likely you are going to be able to get it rare to medium rare.


The sides are tasty, the atmosphere is nice, and the prices are reasonable.


I fully recommend getting your prime rib fix here!!

The Real Anubis

Too bad this is located in such a mundane area, for it is a classic steakhouse that takes itself seriously. The interior is dark with wood and leather appointments, the end result being one of comfortable luxury.  Much more a place to impress a date or take a business client. I think families with young children would feel out of place here.  The rolls, salad, and "Montreal" fries were all good, not outstanding.  But oh my, that one pound Prime Rib was superb! As thick, beautiful, tender, and tasty as I've had anywhere at any price.  It was cooked to perfection thanks to a wonderfully helpful waitress who as she said "knows the chefs, whereas you don't."  I finished off this magnificent meal with the best Napolean I've ever eaten.  Keeping with the Canadian theme, it is flown in fresh all the way from Montreal, which is the next best thing to being in Paris. And those French put a lot of skill, care, and love into their desserts.  Oh that custard filling will stay in my thoughts for a long time. For an important anniversary, birthday, graduation, or the like, you cannot go wrong by treating your loved ones to this hidden gem.

John C.

Fantastic!!! Great food, great service and great prices! You get a lot for your money!

anonymous

This place is unbelievably great!!! The prime rib was so tender i cut it with a fork!!

Guest87392

...We went as a small group of four during the holidays. They were opened early and we thought the food was awesome. We had the Lobster Bisque, Calamari, Prime Rib and tried a couple more appetizers. We were very, very happy with the food, service and warm atmosphere. We sat under one of the fireplace heaters on a cold day and LOVED it! Maybe the chef was different on the other day! I was actually on the site today to see what time the opened for a repeat visit. Maybe everyone should try it at least once before deciding based on the reviews. Perhaps your experience will be like mine! WONDERFUL and great value and portions!

Guest55450

Fantastic food - it was a great day for us when Seltzer's returned to the area! No other place can measure up to their perfect steaks and prime rib; the quality is superb. Lovely ambiance, too [puts all other places to shame] We love this place & will be going back regularly!

ian_andsue

We wanted to try out the new Harold Seltzer's and we hoped that it would be a good experience. It was. The scewered filet was tender and flavorful; however, the broiled salmon was a bit bland. Both the regular and decaf coffees were outstanding. They serve a special blend. Our meals were reasonably priced and the service was efficient. The decor was subdued and the bathroom was immaculate. One of the ways we rate a restaurant is whether or not we would return, and in this case, the answer is a definite YES.

Guest86665

We love the restaurant...the Prime Rib is the absolute Best. The service was excellent also.

Phil & Judy Nyer

Have visited twice since the change to Harold Seltzer's Steakhouse. I have enjoyed it very. The 8oz. Prime Rib was excellent and the Chef was very nice to tell me the carbohydrates in the creamed spinach. Much pleased. Thank you ,

Nancy Armstrong

The croutons are the best. Prime Rib to die for. Service unbelievable… Very very fast… Especially for New Year's Eve! Harold is an excellent host. Can't wait to come back!

Chris Rose

Always enjoyed the meal and the service.. I recommend this restaurant to everyone that is new to the area with no hesitation. We also the special touch you give on birthdays, etc. keep up the good work.

Joann

There was a party of 4 of us widows who had our dinner there at 2 PM on Sunday, and I want to tell you that all of our meals were super-delicious. I had the petite filet mignon, and it melted in my mouth (in Medium)......... one friend had the shrimp, and is still saying how great it was, and two had the prime rib and loved it, and we had dessert - Napoleons - and I tell you, they were soooo delicious, very rich, and sooo good. So we all went home stuffed and happy, and we want to thank you for making our Mother's Day so special, even though we could not spend it with our children.

Marianne O'Neill

Good news! Harold Seltzer announced that he was going to reopen the store in Port Richey. A very good friend went there for dinner and reported back that everything was great. I wanted to give it more time to get their act together so we held off until last night. Well let me tell you; that was the best meal we have ever had at a Seltzer's.


The shrimp cocktail was really worth the price, the rolls were fresh and warm, the house salad and dressing were very fresh, and the Baby-Back Ribs and the tenderloin steak couldn't have been better.


I advised your manager that we were very pleased with every aspect of our visit and that our service was excellent! We were with the Schmidt party on May 20, 2011.


Please keep up the good work. We don't have that many great restaurants on this area. Looking forward to our next visit, very soon.

Roy Matthews

Dear Mr. Seltzer:


Were it possible to write a "love letter" to a restaurant then this certainly should qualify as such.


As frequent and long time customers of the then "Sam Seltzer's" we were devastated at its closing. Now we are thrilled at its reopening!


For every birthday, Christmas and anniversary our standing request to family was "give us a Sam Seltzer's Gift Certificate!" We have been coaxed by friends to try other restaurants and on occasion we have but none can compare with the prices, service and ambiance of your facility. Unfortunately, we discarded our last certificate when it closed but the loss pales by comparison to the fact that we can once again enjoy another fine restaurant from the Seltzer family.


YUM!!!!
Sincerely,

John and Connie McNaughton